LibGuides: DATABASES AND RESOURCES IN THE LIBRARY: OTHER RESOURCES

ACADEMIC RESOURCES

ACADEMIC JOURNALS
Academic Journals is a publisher of peer-reviewed open access journals. Academic Journals currently publishes over 100 open access journals covering art and humanities, engineering, medical science, social sciences, biological sciences, physical sciences and agricultural sciences. Our mission is to accelerate the dissemination of knowledge through the publication of high quality research articles using the open access model.
ARXIV.ORG
Open access to 1,648,678 e-prints in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Submissions to arXiv should conform to Cornell University academic standards. arXiv is owned and operated by Cornell University, a private not-for-profit educational institution. arXiv is funded by Cornell University, the Simons Foundation and by the member institutions.
BASE (BIELEFELD SEARCH ENGINE
BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 240 million documents from more than 8,000 content providers. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.
DIRECTORY OF OPEN ACCESS BOOKS
The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. Academic publishers are invited to provide metadata of their Open Access books to DOAB. Metadata will be harvestable in order to maximize dissemination, visibility and impact. Aggregators can integrate the records in their commercial services and libraries can integrate the directory into their online catalogues, helping scholars and students to discover the books. The directory is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access and should contain as many books as possible, provided that these publications are in Open Access and meet academic standards.
ECON BIZ
Students can find Scholarly publications in economics and business studies for your bachelor and master thesis.
Highly ranked journal articles and articles from books.
Free full texts, e.g. current economics and business studies working papers.
ERIC
ERIC is widely used by students, researchers, faculty members, and others who are responding to course requirements or developing reports for their work.
GAPMINDER
Gapminder identifies systematic misconceptions about important global trends and proportions and uses reliable data to develop easy to understand teaching materials to rid people of their misconceptions.
Open Access Journals
MDPI or Multidisciplinary Digital Publishing Institute is a publisher of author-pays open access scientific journals. Founded by Shu-Kun Lin as a chemical sample archive, it has established over 200 broad-scope journals.
OPEN ACCESS LIBRARY
OALib is currently hosting links and metadata to more than 5,257,952 open access articles covering a wide range of academic disciplines. All full text articles from your search results are free to download.

OALib Journal is a scholarly, peer-reviewed, open access journal covering all subject areas in STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) as well as Social Sciences. The OALib Articles from the OALib Journal are stored in the Open Access Library (OALib).
PHILPAPERS
PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. We monitor all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics. We also host the largest open access archive in philosophy. Our index currently contains 2,549,474 entries categorized in 5,647 categories. PhilPapers has over 270,000 registered users.
PLOS ONE
PLOS One is a peer-reviewed open access scientific journal published by the Public Library of Science (PLOS) since 2006. The journal covers primary research from any discipline within science and medicine.
REFSEEK
RefSeek is a web search engine for students and researchers that aims to make academic information easily accessible to everyone. RefSeek searches more than five billion documents, including web pages, books, encyclopedias, journals, and newspapers.
SPRINGEROPEN
SpringerOpen, launched in June 2010, includes Springer’s portfolio of 200+ peer-reviewed fully open access journals across all areas of science.

TOPIC FINDERS FOR SCIENCE

Websites with information on Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM)

Math Forum
Links to websites and documents on many topics in pure mathematics (algebra, calculus, geometry, etc.) and mathematics as used in life and physical science (astrology, biology, chemistry, computer science, and physics) and social science (economics, population, political science.)
National Science Digital Library (NSDL)
Provides high-quality online resources in the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplines. Search by grade level, subject (STEM) and resource format. Users need to register with the site to download and save resources.
Physics World
The member magazine of the Institute of Physics is freely accessible to the public.
SciCentral
Collects and ranks breaking science news, using only content that's freely accessible to online readers. Sources are chosen based on reliability, timeliness of information, the extent of coverage, multidisciplinary coverage, and leads to follow-up information.

Topic Finder

Carrot2 is an Open Source Search Results Clustering Engine. It can automatically organize small collections of search results, into thematic categories. You can see these results either as a tree or you can click 'visualize' to see a diagram like the one shown here. If, as in the example above, you were thinking of doing a project on Humanitarian NGOs, you could search for the keyword terms Humanitarian and NGOs, and it will bring up a number of related topics, such as disaster relief, faith-based and secular organizations, and IHH Humanitarian Relief Foundation. You can choose one of these topics to see those relevant results. This may help you to find research topics for a subject you are interested in.

TOPIC IDEAS

3200+ talks to stir your curiosity
TED Talks
Global Issues
Social, Political, Economic and Environmental Issues That Affect Us All
ESSAY TOPIC GENERATOR TOOL

Explore Content

Discover your topics from this Harvard University site

SUBJECT WISE RESOURCES

NCBI: www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov

PubMed: pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ): doaj.org

ScienceDirect: https://www.sciencedirect.com/

The Red List: iucnredlist.org

NASA Climate Change: http://climate.jpl.nasa.gov/

National Wildlife Health Center: https://www.usgs.gov/centers/nwhc/publications

USDA nutrient database:

https://fdc.nal.usda.gov/ (contains a complete nutrition profile for various food and drink items)

Satellite Data: https://www.nasa.gov/content/goes

Ocean Tracks: oceantracks.org

The Paleobiology Database: http://paleobio.org/education/education.html

eBird: ebird.org

RCSB Protein Data Bank: http://pdb101.rcsb.org/

BioServers: http://www.bioservers.org/bioserver/ (Easy to use interface for DNA database searches)

ALFRED: https://alfred.med.yale.edu/ (allele frequency)

http://www.aapt.org/
http://scitation.aip.org/content/aapt/journal/tpt
http://iopscience.iop.org/
http://iopscience.iop.org/0031-9120
Example of an article: The speed of sound in singing tubes:
http://iopscience.iop.org/0031-9120/49/3/268/pdf/0031-9120_49_3_268.pdf
Helpful articles about understanding how to write an essay in physics in the journals The Physics Teacher (AAPT Physics Education) or Physics Education (IOP Science).
Example of an article from The Physics Teacher: The Physics Teacher, Vol. 5, Issue 4, pages 160-163, 1967 “A student exercise for determining the average density of a celestial body by a limiting process” by T. E. Pomeroy.
Online video analysis: Vernier’s LoggerPro https://www.vernier.com/product/logger-pro-3/. This programme allows the student to insert a video for analysis. The video can be one made by the student or one found online. The LoggerPro software comes with hundreds of videos. The student calibrates the scale, tracks the motion, and then can analyze the result.
Iteration: http://www.feynmanlectures.caltech.edu/I_09.html

Simulations:
https://phet.colorado.edu/en/simulations/filter?subjects=physics&sort=alpha&view=grid
Interactive Physics Simulations:

https://ophysics.com/
SERC, The Science Education Resource Center at Carleton College.
http://serc.carleton.edu/ and
https://serc.carleton.edu/serc/search.html?search_text=physics+videos&search=Go

The PIVOT Interactives from Vernier provide an online supplement to hands-on experiments, videos that allow students to vary experimental parameters, and allows students to use embedded analysis tools to make measurements and develop their own conclusions

www.vernier.com/pivot-interactives

Interactive Video Vignettes: https://www.compadre.org/ivv/

Statistical and Thermal Physics: https://www.compadre.org/stp/

Cosmic Ray-eLab: http://www.i2u2.org/elab/cosmic/home/project.jsp

KCVS: King’s University in Edmonton, Canada, the website of King’s Center for Visualization

in Science: https://kcvs.ca/cards.html?type=applets

NASA (National Aeronautics and Space Administration), undergraduate computer programs to download:

https://www.grc.nasa.gov/WWW/k-12/UndergradProgs/index.htm

Particle Physics: OnScreen Science—accurate subatomic particle decay events simulation with analysis tools.

http://www.onscreen-sci.com

geophysics: Interactive Physics Simulations listed by topic: https://ophysics.com/index.html

PhET: The University of Colorado, Boulder, USA, the website for Physics Education Technology.

https://phet.colorado.edu/en/simulations/category/physics

Physlets and HTML5 Simulations for physics from Andrew Duffy. http://physics.bu.edu/~duffy/sims.html

The Physics Aviary: From Boston University includes topics for AP physics courses.

https://www.thephysicsaviary.com/Physics/Programs/Labs/find.php

yTEACH Web Site: http://www.yteach.com/

There are hundreds of simulations that are categorized by IB physics syllabus topics.

https://www.edumedia-sciences.com/en/node/402-forces

The Royal Society of Chemistry: www.rsc.org

PubChem: pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov

ChemSpider: www.Chemspider.com

Chemistry Views: www.chemistryviews.org

ACS: http://bitly.ws/fwhA

Virtual Chemistry Laboratory: http://www.chem.ox.ac.uk/vrchemistry/

Virtual lab: http://vlab.co.in/broad-area-chemical-sciences